16 January 2018 | 16:04


The Commission on is Asylum a body that supports the Vice President of the Republic, on whom the President devolved, by a Decree on January 23 2012, the exercise of the functions within art. 98, item 10 of the Constitution of the Republic of Bulgaria. The Commission on Asylum was appointed by Decree ? 124 of March 27 2012 by the President of the Republic of Bulgaria. The operating rules of the Commission on Asylum were approved by Presidential Decree ? 125 of March 27 2012. The Commission has advisory functions performed at regular meetings. The Commission shall prepare a reasoned proposal regarding each application for asylum submitted to the President of the Republic of Bulgaria. The Commission may invite representatives of non-governmental human rights to participate in its meetings, without having the right to vote.

Chairperson: Liliana Stankova-Proytcheva

Liliana Stankova-Proytcheva was born on July 9 1956. She graduated in German philology, law and psychology from Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridski and Veliko Turnovo University St. Cyril and Methodius. She was Director of the Bulgarian Citizenship Directorate at the Ministry of Justice from March 2011 to February 2012, was Director of the Free Movement of Persons, Migration and Integration Directorate from 2008 to 2011, and before that headed the Migration and Free Movement of Persons department, and was head of the Migration and Free Movement of Workers sector at the Ministry of Labour and Social Policy.

She was the Republic of Bulgaria’s representative on the Council of Europe’s Committee on Migration from 2004 to 2011,  incl. a term as member of the governing body of the committee; was contact person for Bulgaria in the Global Forum on Migration and Development from 2007 to 2011; head of working group 2, Free Movement of Persons, in the Council on European Affairs at the Council of Ministers; a member of the Secretariat of the National Council on Migration Policy of the Republic of Bulgaria; led the team to establish a National Strategy 2008 - 2015 on Migration and Integration; was a member of the Committee on Solidarity and Management of Migration Flows at the European Commission; a member of the High Level Working Group on Asylum and Migration to the  Council of the EU and Associate Professor of Migration and European Integration at New Bulgarian University.

In February 2012 she was appointed Chairperson of the Commission on Asylum, and from September 2012 also Acting Chairperson of the Bulgarian Citizenship and Bulgarians Abroad Commission to Vice President of the Republic of Bulgaria.

She speaks English, German and Russian.